06/14/2018
Upon determining the presence of a quorum, Dr. April Willis called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

Name	Office	Present	Absent	Arrived Late	Departed Early
Dr. April Willis	Board Chair	√			
Alyssa Moore	Parliamentarian	√			
Clare Benish	Secretary	✓			✓
Samantha Gladwell	Teacher member	✓			
Natalie Elliott	Secondary Teacher	✓			
Laura Collier	Parent member		✓		
Ean Fulks	Teacher member	✓			✓
Dr. David Molina	Community member	✓			
John Tintera	Community member		✓		
Amy Adams	Secondary Parent	✓			
Priscilla Cavazos	Elementary Parent	✓			
Miki Nguyen	Student Rep (non-voting)		✓		
Kathleen Zimmermann	Executive Director	✓			
Joey Thompson	Director of Operations	✓			
Julie Atchley	Director of Federal Programs	✓			
Curtis Wilson	Secondary Principal	✓			✓
Terry Berkenhoff	Elementary Principal	✓			
Hweilu Chen	Director of Finance	✓			
Amy Elms	Community Outreach		√		
Nicolas Castano	Accountant		√		
Megan Podd	Secondary Asst. Prin.		√		

Unfinished Business

The Board discussed the items on the agenda. Items 3b and 4h were removed from the agenda. Dr. David Molina moved to accept the agenda as amended. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on the May 10, 2018 minutes. Dr. David Molina moved to accept the minutes as amended. The motion passed.

No public comment.

New Business

The Board discussed and voted on changes to the bylaws. The changes modified some of the language in certain sections of the bylaws and created the new Board officer position of Vice Chair. Ean Fulks moved to accept the changes to the bylaws as presented. The motion passed.

The Compensation Committee invited Kathleen Zimmermann to take the floor to discuss the proposed teacher pay scale for the 2018-2019 school year. The recommended changes were based on comparisons to other local districts.

The Board discussed and voted on the initial operating budget for the 2018-2019 school year. Revenues are expected to increase due to new facilities funding. Dr. David Molina moved to accept the budget as presented. The motion passed.

Kathleen Zimmermann recognized outgoing Board members Clare Benish, Ean Fulks, Laura Collier, and John Tintera, and thanked them for their service.

The Board seated the new members of the NYOS School Board.

New members: Dr. April Willis-Community Member (re-elected)

George Gentile-Community Member Jesus Aguilar-Secondary Teacher

Chris Juraska-Elementary Teacher (absent)

Matt Embry-Secondary Parent

Kari Honea-Elementary Parent (absent) Sruti Ramachandran-Student Member

The Board invited Elementary Principal Terry Berkenhoff and Secondary Principal Curtis Wilson to present on the 5th grade and 8th grade STAAR test results.

The Board discussed and voted on policies 500.020-500.040 re: Texas Open Meetings and Texas Public Information Act. Dr. David Molina moved to accept policies 500.020-500.040 as presented. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on policy 400 Addendum 3 Special Education. Alyssa Moore moved to accept policy 400 Addendum 3 Special Education as presented. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on a new contract for financial advisory services. Dr. David Molina moved to accept the service contract as presented. The motion passed.

The Board determined new officers for the 2018-2019 school year.

New officers: Board Chair: Dr. April Willis

Board Vice Chair: Dr. David Molina

Secretary: Natalie Elliot Parliamentarian: Alyssa Moore

The Board determined members of standing committees for the 2018-2019 school year.

Committees: Financial Oversight: Dr. April Willis, Dr. David Molina, Jesus Aguilar, Priscilla

Cavazos, Matt Embry (Chair)

Board Development: Sruti Ramachandran, Priscilla Cavazos, Amy Adams

(Chair)

Property Development: George Gentile, Dr. David Molina, Matt Embry, Alyssa

Moore (Chair)

Nominations: George Gentile, Samantha Gladwell (Chair)

Executive Director Review: Alyssa Moore, George Gentile, Dr. David Molina, Dr. April Willis (Chair)

Compensation: Dr. April Willis, Matt Embry, Dr. David Molina (Chair)

The Board set the following meeting dates for the 2018-2019 school year: 2018 – July 12, August 9, September 13, October 11, November 15, December 13; 2019 – January 10, February 7, March 7, April 11, May 9, June 13, June 27.

Kathleen Zimmermann updated the Board on the Texas Charter Schools Association CEO search, city council advocacy, end of year activities (surveys, exit interviews, Campus Improvement Plan, vision statement work, graduation), and upcoming conferences.

Committees

Samantha Gladwell took the floor on behalf of the Financial Oversight Committee. NYOS ended the 2017-2018 school year with enrollment at 1004 students. The building modifications in the front of building A have begun and additional funds will be used for A/C unit replacement.

Amy Adams took the floor on behalf of the Board Development Committee and welcomed all new members to the Board. Board members signed code of ethics statements.

Alyssa Moore invited Kathleen Zimmermann to speak on behalf on the Property Development Committee. Committee members are currently looking at potential models for development.

Other Business

The Board discussed the agenda for the July 12, 2018 meeting.

Adjournment time: 8:14 p.m.
Samantha Gladwell Recorder
Natalie Elliot Secretary